2016 Nationals

2016 Grenon 9876mhr small3


The 2016 Atlantic National Championship took place in July at Niantic Bay Yacht Club, who organized a fine regatta.

Starting on Thursday, 21 boats came to the line for two races in mostly light air. Scott Reichhelm in A142 Shucks emerged on top for the day with a second and third place, followed by Chris Wittstock, then Steve Benjamin. The second day, again conditions were light and tricky until a breeze arrived late in the day. Norm Peck III in A137 Nonesuch from the home club showed great consistency to take the overall lead by one point from Benj. Jeff Shay and Scott Reichhelm shared third spot.

Day 3: An excellent day's racing in a 15-knot westerly breeze and flat water. In a popular move, the Race Committee, led by Ken Legler, laid courses with more, shorter legs, to keep the fleet out of the strongest part of the tide.

Five boats went into the last race with a chance of winning the title, and the result couldn't have been closer. Bill Barton repeated his 2013 win in A141 One 4 All with his crew of Peter Smith, Peter Duncan and Tom Blackwell. Steve Benjamin in A128 Cassidy needed to win the last race but keep a boat between himself and Barton: the latter finished second to clinch the title when the tie was resolved. Third was Stephen Jay in A148 Alliance, fourth Norm Peck III. 

RESULTS: click on Final Results

The Entry List with crew names is here.


2015 Nationals

The 2015 Nationals at Cold Spring Harbor Beach Club were won by David Peck sailing A130 Miss April, from Niantic Bay Yacht Club, with his crew of John Moulthrop, Tom Peck and Diane Rothman. Close in second place was a very consistent Tim Britton with A49 Transit, and third Ian Evans with A44 Try Again. Boats from Kollegewidgwok Yacht Club in Blue Hill, Maine, took three of the first five places.

David Peck had steered to a Nationals win previously, back in 1987. Since then he has crewed for his father, Norm Peck Jr., calling tactics and helping gain multiple championship wins, but this year Dave took over as Dad watched from his powerboat.

26 boats from five fleets competed. The first day saw a light air start followed by a 90-degree windshift as the southerly came in, catching out a lot of good crews on the wrong side. Second day, a good southerly but just one race. On the last day a typical northerly with big shifts in strength and direction made for demanding conditions but three good races. As usual CSHBC put on a memorable event.

RESULTS: final scores

2014 Nationals

2014 Atlantic Nationals were hosted by Cedar Point Yacht Club in Westport, CT, on August 21-23. Six races were completed for the series, with 26 yachts competing from 5 yacht clubs. Steve Benjamin, sailing A128 for Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club, scored five aces (after one discard) to win the championship handily. Mark Foster (A140) placed second and Scott Reichhelm (A142) was third, both from Cedar Point Yacht Club. It is worth noting that both Mark and Scott are "second generation" Atlantic sailors -- their fathers have won a total of 14 championships between them.

pdfFinal Results

2013 Nationals

Congratulations to Bill Barton and his crew (Tom Blackwell, Pete Duncan and Peter Smith) on winning 2013 Atlantic Nationals. Congratulations to all sailors but Scott Reichhelm (A142) on 2nd, Jeff Shay (A147) on 3rd, Norm Peck III (A137) on 4th, Norm Peck JR (A130) on 5th, Chris Wittstock (A25) on 6th, Mark Foster (A140) on 7th, Rory Coster (A133) on 8th, Guy Gurney (A128) on 9th and Ian Evans (A44) on 10th. And a huge thank you to everyone at MBC for producing a super Nationals on and off the water.